Sock-gate in Boston? Oh noes!

So, apparently Orioles play-by-play man Gary Thorne claims he was told that the blood on the sock of Curt Schilling in the 2004 ALCS was phony! Oh noes! After reading about this today at work, I don’t understand the significance of this. Does it really matter at this point? Curt replied in his official blog tonight (or this morning, glad to know I’m not the only one up), but I don’t even think it was truly necessary, and he makes a great point about this overshadowing what could be a GREAT story!
In the end, it’s getting much more play than it should. Whether it was blood or paint, does it change the fact that Curt went out there and pitched his butt off both in Game 6 against New York and in Game 2 of the World Series? No. Boston wins either way. Once again proof that media loves a controversy much more than a feel good story.

Alex Rodriguez leaving NY? I was also reading today (one advantage of your store closing is you have lots of time to surf the internet) that he might opt out of his contract in New York. While I could certainly understand a possible desire to leave New York, a desire A-Rod says he doesn’t have, Boras would be a fool to have him opt out of his contract. Nobody has signed for anywhere near the money he’s played for since he signed that contract. He won’t get a raise, now I can see him working an extension with NY to keep his pay rate, or near that. I guess this story will unfold as the season goes on, but if I’m A-Rod, I stay in New York. I’ve been wrong before, but I don’t see the advantages to leaving.

Good news for Cards fans. Chris Carpenter played some long toss and Mark Mulder has been in St. Louis visiting the team. Having Carp back in the rotation will make me feel much more comfortable. I just hope that we don’t have to worry about him messing up his shoulder again, or it inflaming again. If there was a chance, I’d say give him the surgery and I’ll take him back in September and hopefully we still have a shot at the playoffs at this point.

Juan Encarnacion is doing rehab starts. Got his first hit tonight with an RBI ground out.

Mulder was playing longtoss with Carp. I’m not sold on Mulder being the savior, but even if he comes back like he’s pitched the past two years for the Cards, I’ll be thrilled. He’s looking like an August return to the majors according to what I’ve read. I will be glad to have him back.

Scott Rolen’s also starting to hit, his BA is up 90 points in the last four days! Wooo!!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

